About us

Thinking of joining Team Bradford? An introduction to what we have done, what we offer and what we have planned

The Council

Bradford City Hall. Picture by Roger MoodyBradford Council is the fourth largest of 36 Metropolitan District Councils in the country, which serve the larger cities and conurbations.  There are four other metropolitan authorities in the West Yorkshire area – Calderdale, Kirklees, Leeds and Wakefield.

We employ approximately 8,500 people (excluding schools) including social workers, litter pickers, library staff, lawyers and town planners. The size and scale of Bradford Council makes it one of the biggest employers in the district.

The City of Bradford has the status of a City and a Metropolitan Borough. In addition to the “Traditional Bradford City”, the Metropolitan District includes the following main areas of population: Addingham, Baildon, Bingley, Burley, Cullingworth, Denholme, Eastburn, Haworth, Ilkley, Keighley, Menston, Oxenhope, Queensbury, Silsden, Shipley and Steeton.

The total population of the District is approximately 531,200 and it covers 141 square miles.  Bradford Council has a workforce of 18,000 (including schools).

To find out more about Bradford Council and what we do, please visit our How Bradford Council works page.

Promoting Bradford

Bradford is a producer city – we create, make and trade. We are undergoing the biggest transformation of any city in the UK and see our diversity as an economic, creative and cultural strength.

Find out more about the Bradford district.

Team Bradford

Hear from some of the staff at Bradford Council about why they care about making a difference for the Bradford District.

Underline image

Rate this page

The feedback you provide will help us continue to make improvements to our website.

Rate this page now

Council Switchboard : 01274 432111

Council Address : Britannia House, Hall Ings, Bradford BD1 1HX

© 2018 City of Bradford Metropolitan District Council