Health and Safety Rating System

The Housing Health and Safety Rating System (HHSRS)is a tool that Bradford Council uses to help remove or minimise risks from hazards to health and safety in dwellings. The key principle is that a dwelling, including any outbuildings and outside space, should provide a safe and healthy environment for the people who live there and any visitors they have. The dwelling should be free from hazards, but where they can’t be removed they should be made as safe as possible. The HHSRS was introduced by law (Housing Act 2004) and applies to both single dwellings and Houses in Multiple Occupation.

The HHSRS assesses 29 categories of housing hazard, and more information about these can be found in the list below. We also have some more information about how the HHSRS is used.

Stay connected

Sign up to get emails for landlords and agents

Contact details

Housing Standards Team
8th Floor, Margaret McMillan Tower
Princes Way,

Phone : 01274 434520
Email :