The Duke of Edinburgh's Award

The Award is not competitive. It provides an enjoyable challenging and rewarding programme of personal development. The Award offers a wide choice of activities and disabled young people as well as able bodied find it possible to qualify for the Awards with little or no variation in the conditions. 

There are three Awards:

  • Bronze for those over 14
  • Silver for those over 15
  • Gold for those over 16.

You can enter at any level but must complete before your 25th birthday. For each award you have to complete four different sections as follows:


You choose one form of service such as First Aid, Fire Service, Care for Animals or Environmental work.


As part of a group you plan and complete a self supported journey in the countryside or on water.


You develop a personal skill or interest and choose from some 200 activities.

Physical recreation and sport

You take part in some form of organised physical recreation or sport and achieve individual progress.

Residential project

For the Gold Award you also have to do a Residential project.

Where to find out more

The regional office for the North of England is:

The Duke of Edinburgh's Award
Knotty Ash Centre
251 East Prescot Road
L14 5NA
Telephone: 0151 228 2533

Underline image